Explore & Relax with everything within minutes to our Hotel.
The Mount Peyton Hotel invites you to experience the excitement of rafting with Rafting NL on the Exploits River. Experience the gentle scenic nature float or try the Exploits Canon run for those who are seeking high adventure fun, through the most incredible scenery of Central NL.
SALMONID INTERPRETATION CENTER
The Salmon Enhancement on the Exploits River is the largest of its kind in North American and to highlight this development an Interpretation Centre is operated in Grand Falls-Windsor, NL.
Located on the Exploits River at the “Grand Falls”, the Centre has exhibits on the history, biology, ecology and habitat of the Atlantic Salmon. Visitors can view the King of Fish through underwater windows as it travels upstream to the spawning habitat and take in the view of the Falls and nesting Seagulls. Enjoy a meal from the restaurant or shop for that unique gift.
MARY MARCH MUSEUM
The museum represents the human and natural history of the area. Friendly interpreters will guide you through the original artifacts that are displayed in our permanent exhibits and will answer any questions.
Mary March was the European name of Demasduit, one of the last Beothuks. Displays focus on historic and prehistoric aboriginal cultures and creation of modern paper industry.
Season: May – Oct Daily 9am-4:45pm
Location: 24 St. Catherine Street, Grand Falls-Windsor
Off Season Telephone: 709-757-8022
CORDUROY BROOK TRAIL
The Corduroy Brook is a 4.5 kilometer waterway winding its way through the heart of Grand Falls-Windsor from Corduroy Pond to the Exploits River. The Corduroy Brook Enhancement Association is a non-profit, charitable organization committed to preserving the Corduroy Brook, and building and maintaining a system of scenic, accessible trails along its course.
The association was incorporated in 1994 and now boasts over 15 kilometers of nature trail, and related infrastructure including bridges and boardwalks, playgrounds, viewing platforms, rest areas, tent sites, and a comprehensive system of signage.
Take a walk down the magnificent Gorge Park and take in the dramatic view of the majestic Exploits River and the imposing and unusual rock formation. This references back to a time when the river was travelled and fished by the aboriginal Beothuks of our land . The park is easily accessible; located through access roads from Scott Avenue. This lovely natural paradise consists of a scenic walking trail along the banks of the Exploits River which features numerous picnic and lookout areas, a boat launch for water enthusiasts, a pier walk, and an adventure playground for children. This park has something to offer everyone.
GRAND FALLS GOLF CLUB
In 1905 construction began on the paper mill and town of Grand Falls. The Anglo-Newfoundland Development Company, as part of the development, cleared land for farming at the intersection of the Exploits River and Rushy Pond Brook. In 1924 some local enthusiasts started a golf course with six holes on the site of the former farm. It shortly became a nine hole facility and remained so until 2004 when nine holes on the opposite side of Rushy Pond Brook were officially opened.